Who, you?

Confession: I am not a farmer. Not yet, at least.

I am starting my agriculture career with a love of healthy food, some gumption and not much else. I have a steep learning curve ahead of me and hope I am up to the challenge.

I am banking on the odds that farming is in my DNA. My grandparents made a living raising hogs and growing peanuts and my dad is a farmer at heart. Growing up, the only interest I took in dad’s gardening was during berry season. Looking back I wish I hadn’t wasted all those years when I could have been learning from him! Although, in fairness, we probably would have driven each other crazy. So maybe this way is better…

Needless to say, my lack of experience is going to become painfully obvious in about a month. I really don’t know what to expect. This could prove the best decision I’ve ever made or yet another one of my ill-conceived undertakings. “Trial by fire” I believe is what they call it. Sink or swim. The closer I get to the actual start date, the more excited and nervous I become.

Seven days of work left. Eighteen days left in NYC. Twenty-five until the adventure begins.

Leave a Reply

