A Short Goodnight

Where did the day go? How is it 11:00 already? And who knew life in suburbia could be so much more exhausting than life on a farm?

I had every intention of writing a long post today about why I decided to pursue farming and what my long-term goals are. I was going to write about my views on processed foods and why I choose to shop locally and cook from scratch to the extent that I can. But all of that will have to wait until tomorrow because I am tired and want to go to bed.

Why am I so tired? I helped my sister paint her bathroom, went on a 5-mile run, made these crackers, went out to dinner with my family to celebrate my brother-in-law’s birthday, ran to Whole Foods to pick up supplies for canning tomorrow (!!!), and made honey roasted peanut butter. More on the crackers, canning, and peanut butter tomorrow.

Somehow all of that wore me out far more than a full day of hauling feed, collecting eggs, and chasing animals. It’s good to be home, but if I keep up this pace, I’ll be more than happy to get back to the farm come Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “A Short Goodnight

Leave a Reply

