Up and Running

What a day! While the café technically opened yesterday, today was our first full day and it went off without a hitch. The weather was perfect, the people friendly, and the food delicious. It was almost relaxing after all the crazy yesterday!

The tours got off to a bit of a slow start. There weren’t that many people around at 12:00 and we had the wagon parked behind the market so people just didn’t know about it. When 12:20 rolled around and Rob and I still had an empty wagon, we decided to change tactics. We pulled the wagon around in front of the market so people would see it and then got the girls in the market and café to drum it up for us.

The 2:00 tour had about 12 people and the 4:00 had 15 or 17. Everyone seemed to enjoy it and they had a lot of good questions for me. The chicken-dog was a big hit, as were the baby chicks (our last stop). We had a lot of people who were first time visitors which was great! Rob is an excellent tractor driver and having him made my life a lot easier for sure.

We have several new products for sale in the market: cheeses, pasta, yogurt, raw milk, granola, assorted whole grain flours – all local! Along with our meat, eggs, honey, and produce, I’ll never have to go to the grocery store again. It’s like I’m back in Brooklyn with everything I need just a block or two away. Now if only I could get Simon to come down and do my laundry once a week…

Also, the sow gave birth! We have a litter of piglets and they are precious. I’d been hoping she’d give birth today (the 27th) so the piglets would share my birthday, but they came last night. I guess that’s close enough. I will try to get some pictures soon. Mama is being a good mom thus far. She’s protective, but not overly aggressive, and she hasn’t accidentally smothered any of them yet, which pigs have a tendency to do.

And finally, here are the “real” (i.e. not from my iPhone) pictures I promised. Enjoy!

On a different note, does anyone know of a good place to get a camera/lenses professionally cleaned? Mine badly needs it. I can always take them up to NYC next time I go, but I’d rather find a place in the Philly/north Delaware region.

 

2 thoughts on “Up and Running

Leave a Reply

