Just an Ordinary Day

On Monday Ryan and Dean went to Lakota Ranch in Virginia to pick up some more steers and a bull. Dean purchased our herd from Lakota and they have been boarding some of our cattle. Our new bull seems very sweet. We’ll start breeding cows later this summer.

Our new bull

Our new bull

He's kind of awesome

He’s kind of awesome

The grass is getting so tall in some of the pastures that haven’t been grazed yet. It’s up to my thighs. I was setting up some fencing and actually lost sight of the ATV.

Seriously tall grass

Seriously tall grass

Can you spot the Kawasaki ATV?

Can you spot the Kawasaki ATV?

Chicken-dog is still killing chickens. Sometimes she just kills them. Sometimes she eats them. The other day she got one of the roosters, but no one really cared since he was a nasty thing anyway.

Look at the blood on her face

Look at the blood on her face

Guilty as sin

Guilty as sin

Speaking of animals with identity issues, Bob is doing better. She’s still limping, but it’s not nearly as bad as it was last week. Tomorrow we will move her to another chicken house as we’ll slaughter the rest of her original flock. Hopefully it isn’t too traumatic for her.

20130515_0002And Sir Fluffkin made another move. He moves as much as I do! From Philly to the layer house to the north side of the farm house to the south side of the farm house to the shed to the broiler house. We’d been keeping him in the shed with the broilers because of all the rain. Today we moved the flock of broilers up to pasture and just like Bob, Sir Fluffkin went with them. He was a bit confused, but took it all in stride.

20130515_0039

 

I stayed up at the farm for my days off which meant exploring. I found a movie theater in Downingtown and went to see Gatsby (so good!) and ventured out to Exton where there is a Barnes and Noble. I was able to camp out in a quiet corner with my Kindle which was nice. It’s not the same as a cute local coffee shop, but it serves the same purpose. I also discovered that Downingtown holds its farmers’ market on Thursday afternoons from 3:00 to 7:00! I know I live on a farm and all, but I have sorely missed my farmers’ market adventures. Guess where I’ll be tomorrow after work?

 

Leave a Reply

