Steering Solo

It was a pretty dreary day. It never really rained, but it was misty and drizzly to the point where everything was just damp. I went out around 11:30 to prepare for our first tour, but after conferring with Dean, we pretty much agreed that no one was going to want to ride around the farm in a wet wagon.

My parents came up after church to visit. My dad came up back in December when I interviewed for the apprenticeship, but we didn’t get to see much of the farm that day and it was my mom’s first visit. I took them on a walking tour to meet Chicken-dog, Bob, and Sir Fluffkin. And the piglets! Mom liked Sir Fluffkin and Bob, but was less than enthusiastic about walking through pastures of knee-high wet grass and cow pies. Dad, ever the farmer, didn’t even notice.

When we came back down I found out some people were asking about tours so I pulled the wagon around. “Some” was actually a group of about 30 people (and 3 dogs) who appeared to have come out for a family reunion. Our largest group to date was 17. We’d never had a full wagon before, but these guys had it packed to standing room only.

Rob was off this weekend and Dean and Ryan were busy which meant I had to drive the tractor. Yikes! I stuck to the lane rather than going through the pastures for fear I’d a) take out a gate and/or b) get stuck. I don’t have a good track record with tractors and muddy fields. Because we stayed on the drive we weren’t able to get close to the cows, but we did go down to the pig runs and everyone seemed to enjoy that. No one fell off. No one got “seasick” from my driving. Everyone seemed to have a good time. So my first solo tour appears to have been a success!

Also, I was thinking it would be cool to have some guest posts about the farm. If you are in the area and want to come visit (and want to write about your visit), let me know!

One thought on “Steering Solo

  1. Pingback: Farm Tour - Steering Solo - Wyebrook FarmWyebrook Farm

Leave a Reply

