Rhubarb

What is with this weather? Here I thought spring had really arrived only to have March return. Cold. Wind. Rain. Maybe it’s El Nino? I wasn’t too excited about being out in the cold wind, but a surprise visit from Manda, Joel, Liz & Caleb made this blustery day so much better!

Here in the mid-Atlantic region, rhubarb is the first fruit of the season. Technically it’s a vegetable, but since it is typically used is sweet cooking, it is classified as a fruit. Sadly, it doesn’t get a lot of credit. Few people think of rhubarb when they think of fruit (or even food in general) and those who do tend to think of it only in relation to strawberries.

I admit I don’t know much about rhubarb. While I’ve always had a vague knowledge of its existence, my first taste of rhubarb was last spring when I made baked oatmeal with it. I intend to change that this year. A lady from my parents’ church grows rhubarb and allowed me to come harvest as much as I wanted. Thirty-two cups later, I am ready to experiment!

Rheum rhabarbarum leaves and shafts

Rheum rhabarbarum leaves and shafts (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Once you remove the leaves (which are actually toxic), rhubarb looks like pink celery and has a very tart taste. You can save the leaves and use them to make an all-natural pesticide. You can also compost the leaves. They won’t hurt your garden.

My main rhubarb recipe priority is from Marisa McClellan’s book Food in Jars: vanilla rhubarb jam with earl grey tea. I’ve been drooling over it for months! Unfortunately, it calls for liquid pectin. I haven’t found a brand without chemicals and/or preservatives which means I have to make my own and I am lazy. That’s why all the rhubarb is chilling in the freezer. Pun intended.

I also want to try Liana Krissoff’s Rustic Rhubarb Tars (from Canning for a New Generation) and Pecan-Polenta Rhubarb Cobbler (from the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook).

20130506_0002
If you want to try rhubarb for yourself, here are some recipes from around the web that look delicious! Disclaimer: I haven’t tried any of these and can’t vouch for their tastiness. If you do try one of them, let me know!

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb

  1. Thanks for sharing these recipes, I think I’ll start with the lemon-rhubarb chicken. I knew the leaves were toxic, but didn’t know you could use them to make insecticide, love it!. For those that have never tried a rhubarb pie, I highly recommend it. Homemade rhubarb pie (not strawberry rhubarb, just rhubarb) and lemon meringue pies are my all time favorites!

    • I think I need to try rhubarb pie. The woman with the rhubarb patch was telling me about how she used to make rhubarb pie back in the day (she is 98!) so maybe I will make one and take it over to share with her. Do you have a go-to recipe?

  2. Pingback: Rhubarb Farm to Table - Wyebrook Farm, Honey Brook, PAWyebrook Farm

  3. Pingback: Rhubarb Review | Girl Gone Farming

Leave a Reply

