Milestones

I caught my first animal today! I’ve helped catch plenty of animals in the past few months but this was the first one I actually nabbed.

We are doing away with our herd of sheep and sent all but a few in for slaughter today. The easiest was to herd them all into the holding pen and then sort out the ones we wanted to keep (3 babies, their moms, & 2 year-old lambs). While we had them in the pen, Ryan wanted to catch and treat one of the babies for a mild case of pink eye. Normally in these situations I help Ryan corner the animal, but he actually catches it. Well, we got her in a corner and she made to run between my legs and I grabbed her and held on for dear life until Ryan got her and I treated her eyes. It was very exciting and kind of a big deal. At least in my mind.

After we caught, sorted and treated the sheep, we had to catch a goat. Everyone’s favorite Sunday morning activity, right? The heat actually helped. They were hiding in one of the huts and Ryan was able to sneak up and lasso one. The three of us – Ryan, Rob & I – dragged him into the trailer.

Chicken-dog has resumed her old habits of killing chickens. She got one yesterday and another today. In fairness, chickens are fairly cannibalistic so maybe she really does think she’s a chicken and is just fully embracing that nature. This, of course, is bad news for Bob whose job security and life (literally!) depend on her keeping the chickens safe from Chicken-dog (who keeps them safe from foxes and hawks).

By the way, has everyone heard the good news? The Connecticut state senate passed a preliminary GMO labeling bill. It still has to pass in the House. And it is conditioned on other states in the area passing similar laws. But it is a start. Come on, PA! Let’s jump on this bandwagon!

Today was my mom’s birthday and I’d been saving the last jar of lemon curd for her. I came home and made her a batch of gingerbread to go with it, but I wanted something a little healthier for dessert. Dad’s garden is full of strawberries so I picked a handful and decided to try roasting them. It was so easy and they were delicious!

Honey-Roasted Vanilla Strawberries

  • Preheat over to 375*F
  • Toss 2 cups sliced strawberries (I halved the small ones and quartered the large one) with 1 tsp. coconut oil or melted butter, 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tbsp. honey*
  • Roast for 15 minutes, stir, roast for another 10 minute

*My mom said the final product was “twangy” and made a puckered up face as she swallowed. My dad loved them. If they aren’t sweet enough, add more honey.

I ate mine topped with cream and coconut, but the possibilities are endless. They’d make a delicious ice cream topping or in place of raw strawberries in strawberry shortcake! Or even on a spinach salad with bacon and crumbled bleu cheese.

5 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. YAY!!! Congrats! As I was reading about the slaughter of the lambs my first thought was NOT BOB!!! I will say an extra prayer for him tonight…

  2. Congrats on the first capture! I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a state law that is conditional on other states adopting a similar law. Oh well, it’s definitely a start! I hope it passes and that PA and CA can follow suit.

    • I hadn’t either, though I understand the whole “strength in numbers” given that they are such a small state. I’d be worried that companies might simply boycott CT rather than altering their labels for such a small segment. If PA, CA, or NY jump on board, companies will have to concede.

  3. Strawberries, butter, honey, vanilla… oh, the aroma! That would be so tasty on top of French toast with yogurt. I always feel like I’m handling little presents (the tops are bows) when I prepare strawberries. 🙂

Leave a Reply

