101

Yesterday was my 100th post! How exciting. AND I have 80 82 followers. Many of whom aren’t my (or my parents’) friends. This may not be exciting to you, but it is for me. That people are interested in my quarter-life crisis and ramblings thereabout fascinates me to no end.

Along those lines, I would like to say thanks to all you wonderful readers! I am happy to be sharing this journey with you.

Speaking of this journey, I castrated a calf today! By myself. Well, not really. Ryan caught and tied up said calf. But I de-balled him. And then he crapped on my jeans.

20130605_0013I figured I deserved it for taking his manhood. It wasn’t exactly a smooth procedure and no where near as quick as Ryan, but you can’t expect your first try to be perfect, right?

Tomorrow I’ll do a whole post on how to castrate a calf. It really does deserve its own post.

What else happened today? Oh! We found Waldo!

Calf no. 343, a.k.a. Waldo, was born last Sunday. Not June 2nd, but May 26th. For the past week and half, we have been unable to find Waldo to tag and castrate him. Thus, the name. (FYI, I didn’t castrate Waldo, but calf no. 350.) We knew he was around and OK because his mom was clearly being nursed and we’d catch a glimpse of him every now and again, just never when we had the tagger and castrating stuff with us. We needed to wear him out, but hadn’t had time what with Steven out and all. Steve is back and today was slow so Ryan and I spent a good 40-45 minutes chasing Waldo around the pasture until he finally collapsed from exhaustion and Ryan was able to lasso him.

Waldo didn’t do himself any favors by playing hard to get because we had to castrate him using the banding method rather than the surgical method (tune in tomorrow for all the details). If I were a male calf, I would definitely opt for the surgical method. Trust me. But, Waldo was too big and wild to bother with that so he got banded.

Also, Chicken-dog has a new stylish accessory: a muzzle. The poor thing hates it, but it keeps her occupied. She spends most of her time trying to figure out how to get it off and we’re hoping she’ never solves that puzzle. We take it off her during the day and it is loose enough that she can still eat (slowly), drink and bark when she is wearing it. She just can’t kill a chicken. At least in theory she can’t. Time will tell.

20130605_0008It could be a bit of a hectic weekend. A lot of the kids who work at the farm are out for graduation (congrats, everyone!) so we’ll all be pitching in to cover for them. On Saturday I am doing my first trip to the Malvern farmer’s market with Lauren and I can’t wait! After all, it was the Grand Army farmer’s market that got me dreaming of becoming a farmer in the first place.

My "office"

My “office”

3 thoughts on “101

  1. Congratulations on your 100th post! I’m amazed by how often you are able to write and the quality you put behind it! Keep up the great work and thanks for sharing your farming stories with us!

Leave a Reply

