Rhubarb Review

Pennsylvania is the new Florida or so it seems. Thunderstorms darken the skies every afternoon around 4:00 or 5:00. Rain is always a good thing, though it would be better if the storms brought the temperature down.

Several months later I finally made it back to garden night! My intentions were good, but Tuesdays proved difficult. Tuesdays are for packing and grocery shopping and generally catching up and preparing for the week. I just couldn’t get my act together to make it. Now that garden night is on Wednesday night I plan to be a regular. Except for next week because of the 4th. But after that, I’ll be there!

Remember all that rhubarb I picked and froze? I put it to good use this weekend. I made two small rhubarb pies (one for my sister and one for the woman who owns the rhubarb patch) and the Oat-y Rhubarb Streusel Bars from Better Homes & Gardens. The pie was good. The crust was the real star though. Of course I made it with lard. It was so flaky and wonderful!

The bars were also delicious. They were very easy. I used whole spelt flour in place of the all-purpose and sucanat in place of the brown and white sugar. I took them to garden night along with some homemade vanilla frozen yogurt and they were a hit. So if you find yourself in a glut of rhubarb, I can now actually recommend those bars!

I took a lot of pictures over the weekend. Just messing around with my camera settings and such. I intended to post them, but left my camera at home in Delaware so I guess the pictures will just have to wait.

Tomorrow is going to be an early morning. We are starting at 6:30 because Caleb (chicken guy) is coming at 7:00 and we have 100 chickens to catch! Yikes.

4 thoughts on “Rhubarb Review

Leave a Reply

