Too Darn Hot

You know it’s too hot out when you break a sweat sitting in the shade at 7:00 am. We have reached that level of heat. Actually, it’s not been that hot, maybe in the mid-80s. But the humidity it what kills you. With each passing day, the scum-covered pond looks more and more appealing…an urge I should probably resist.

Being the first Saturday of the month, today was our monthly farmers’ breakfast. The layer house was pretty far away so my plan was to take people out in the wagon. As of 2:30 p.m. yesterday we had 47 people signed up so I would have needed to do two runs. No big deal. Well, by 8:00 p.m. last night we had 110 people! That meant 4, maybe 5, trips in the wagon so plans changed. Instead of bringing people to the eggs, we brought the eggs to the people. Since the chicken coop is mobile and we move it every day anyways, Rob and I just pulled it back closer to the market. Once people had gathered their eggs, we dragged it back down to where it belonged. So much easier!

As fun as the farmer’s breakfasts are, I was a little bummed that I wouldn’t be going to the farmer’s market with Lauren. It has definitely become the highlight of my week. Morning chores totally changed that. I was feeding the pigs and discovered a new litter of seven piglets! One of the gilts gave birth last night and I was the first person in the whole world to see these less-than-day-old babies. That was very cool.

20130706_0003

I had my first non-family visitors today! Two girls from my Brooklyn life group – Jasmine and Andria – were visiting friends in Philly for the 4th of July. They came out the farm today with a contingency of 12 or so people. It was great! I had so much fun catching up with them and hearing all the Brooklyn news. It made me eve more excited to head back up there in a few weeks. I’m going up for a friend’s wedding, but will be staying for a long weekend. I can’t wait!

Pearl and I have been bonding for the past few days. Ryan is out of town and I am pup sitting. I know it is utterly impractical at this point in my life, but I really want a puppy!

20130706_0008

5 thoughts on “Too Darn Hot

Leave a Reply

