Blueberries

I have never been the biggest blueberry fan. I never liked blueberry muffins or blueberry buckle. I don’t know what it is about them. Maybe it is a texture thing. The fact remains that they are my least favorite berry.

While I may not love them, I have acquired a taste for them in recent years. I enjoy them most with yogurt and granola. I also like to put them in green smoothies, though the smoothie comes out more brown than green when you add blueberries. Actually, that works out well because it looks like a chocolate milkshake and people don’t give you weird looks for your neon green drink.

English: A pack of blueberries from a organic ...

My sister was able to get a flat of unsprayed blueberries through the Delaware Local Food Exchange. Berries are on the Dirty Dozen list so it is best to buy them from a farmer you know and trust or to buy organic from the store. One flat is 12 pints which is a lot of blueberries so we split them, six for her and six for me. Right now they are chilling in the freezer (get it?) while I figure out what I want to do with them. Some will end up in yogurt or smoothies, but I do want to experiment with them. I may try to preserve some, either whole or as blueberry butter. I’m also making blueberry swirl cheesecake bars to take to garden night. The link to the recipe is below. I’ll let you know how they turn out and how they compare to the rhubarb crumble bars.

My dad’s blueberries are starting to ripen so soon we will be swimming in blueberries!

Blueberries

Blueberries

As soon as you get your berries home, blueberries or other, wash them in a solution of 1 part vinegar and 3 parts water. Allow them to dry completely before refrigerating them. This will keep them from getting moldy so quickly. If you have more than you can use up within a few days, freeze them in a single layer on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Once they are fully frozen, throw them in a freezer safe container. Freezing them on a cookie sheet keeps them from clumping up and freezing in one giant chunk. You’ll be able to scoop out what you need as you need it without requiring an ice pick.

Recipes:

3 thoughts on “Blueberries

  1. They remind me of baby plums. 🙂 I like adding them frozen to almost-done oatmeal so they come out hot, fat, and juicy without falling apart. Eating them fresh and plain is good too, but they can be hit-or-miss on flavor. Texture… I’m that way with bananas. Great taste, but swallowing can be rough. (shudder) The recipes above sound delicious!

  2. Pingback: Berries | Girl Gone Farming

Leave a Reply

