New Hobby

A few months ago I was bemoaning the fact that I didn’t have a hobby. Running, cooking and photography didn’t count because I wanted something simpler that I could pick up and put down as time allowed. Canning isn’t exactly something you can do to fill a 30-minute lull in your day. Well, I finally have one!

Embroidery.

I know, I know. I’m either a hipster or a grandma. I’ll take grandma, thanks. It really is fun, though. It’s relaxing. It requires a lot of focus, but not a lot of thought which is nice. I love podcasts and documentaries and such, but get antsy just sitting around listening. Embroidery is the perfect solution. It gives me something to do with my hands, but I can still devote my mental focus to the podcast or audio book or documentary or whatever. It’s great.

I also like it because it allows me to be creative without being artsy. I am not artistic at all. I cannot draw a straight line. Which means I can barely draw a stick figure. Embroidery is pretty much tracing. I iron a pattern on to a piece of fabric and then “trace” it with thread. Simple, yes? But I have control over the colors and the stitches and such.

Plus it actually produces something. I love writing and running and photography, but those don’t produce anything tangible. At least not the way I do them. This blog is my writing outlet. It’s not like I am producing a book which I could hold in my hands. The same goes for my photography. I rarely print pictures and when I do I almost never frame or display them. Even when I do, it doesn’t feel like it is mine since someone else printed the photo and made the frame. Embroidery creates an item I can hold that is all mine. Does that make sense to anyone else?

Right now I’m sticking to tea towels. They are easy and practical. My stockpile is rapidly growing and I’m going to have to figure out what I want to do with them all. Anyone want one? I’m thinking they will make nice wrapping paper for Christmas presents.

Go ahead. Laugh. I feel like I deserve it. But then don’t expect one of my awesome towels.

10 thoughts on “New Hobby

  1. I think that is a great hobby! Mom Mom Radcliffe taught me to embroider by drawing a rose with a long stem and leaves on a piece of fabric. I still have it, framed in my house. It’s a great memory.

  2. Totally makes sense. 🙂 You’re really good at that! My mom would love the “Everything goes better with butter” one. I like teasing her… I’ll be eating ice cream or something and say, “This is good, but you know what would make it better?” I don’t even have to say the answer now, we just laugh. I hope you’re taking pictures of all your towels. When you’ve given them away, it will be nice to be able to see them again. Plus, if you move on to harder patterns, you’ll be able to trace your progress. Nice job! Have you thought about selling them at the farmer’s market?

    • It’s so true. Everything IS better with butter! Everything. Butter and bacon. I haven’t thought about selling them. Honestly, at this point I don’t produce them quickly enough and they aren’t nearly as good as the pictures indicate. I’m still working on making my stitches even and sorting out how thick my strands should be and such. But maybe someday!

Leave a Reply

