Beef. It’s What’s For Dinner.

I am somewhat ashamed and embarrassed to admit that I have never cooked a steak. Yep. I work on a farm helping raise grass-fed beef, but haven’t attempted to make any for myself.

 

Don’t misunderstand me. I eat our meat all the time. I cook a chicken every other week and love the sausages and grinds. I can fry up the perfect piece of bacon and make an amazing meatball. I just don’t do steaks. They intimidate me.

 

Growing up, I never really liked steak. Probably because most of the steak I had was tough and over-cooked. For many years I didn’t eat red meat at all and I never felt I was missing out on anything. Plus, with all the bad press red meat gets, I believed abstaining was the healthy thing to do.

 

However, grass-fed beef is actually pretty good for you. It has less fat than grain-fed beef and the fat it has is higher in omega-3s than its grain-fed counterpart. In fact, grass-fed beef has less fat than conventionally-raised chicken (legs & thighs). Who’d have thought you’d be better off with a steak than a drumstick? It is also better for the environment because most grass-fed operations use less fuel (no need to transport grains across the country).

 

For weeks now I’ve been working up the courage to tackle steak and tonight I took the plunge. I got a small, dry-aged tri tip steak and made it for dinner tonight. The tri tip cut comes from the bottom sirloin and gets its name from its triangular shape. There are only two per cow so it isn’t always an easy cut to find.

Bottom sirloin in the beef cut chart.

Bottom sirloin in the beef cut chart. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I followed Lauren and Joe’s advice (and Mark Bitman’s) and seared it on high heat for about 2 minutes per side. Then I put it in the oven where I broiled it on high for another 5 minutes. Five minutes was too long. Three probably would have been ideal. But I worried about under cooking it which is ridiculous given that I ate steak tartare made from Wyebrook beef the other day. Needless to say, it was a bit tough, but the flavor was great. Next time I won’t cook it nearly as long.

image_18

 

I paired it with caramelized onions, sautéed spinach, and corn on the cob which made for a really delicious meal! Now that I have gotten past my fear, I plan to try a new cut of steak each week to determine which is my favorite.

image_24Also, for anyone who was wondering about the 5K I ran on Saturday, well, I didn’t. The city cancelled it due to some pretty intense lightning. Which is ironic given that the race was the Electric Run. I thought the lightning was part of the ambiance. Our wave was at the start line about to go when they announced it was cancelled. Major bummer. But we still got to wear our fun, glowing jewelry which made for some awesome pictures!

image_3

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beef. It’s What’s For Dinner.

    • He would have loved Wyebrook. Any chance you and grandmom might come up to visit? Think she’d be up for it? We are doing an old-fashioned pig slaughter in October and I’m sure we could use her advice!

Leave a Reply

