A Beautiful Day

It only seems fair that I give this week’s weather its proper due. Apparently Mother Nature listened to all my whining about the heat and humidity and gave us a glorious respite this week. Last week Ryan, Steve and I were wishing we could spend our days in the kitchen working on stuff for the cafe and market. This week it was Mike, Joe and Lexi who wanted to trade places so they could enjoy the perfect weather.

See? I don’t just complain about the weather. I genuinely appreciate these beautiful days!

It was a steady day on the farm. Busy, but not crazy. We had a lot to do to get ready for the weekend, but never felt rushed. Those are the perfect days. Where you aren’t bored, but things aren’t frantic either. After chores we moved both cow groups and filled up the pig feeders and layer feeder. That was an experience. The layer feeder is mounted on the back of the house and the hatch to dump food in is on the top of the roof. There is a ladder so you can climb up and check how much feed is left, but you can’t really fill it up that way. (The feeder holds over a ton of feed. Anyone want to carry that up and down a ladder? I didn’t think so.) Ryan drove the skidsteer up to the layer house with a pallet and a bucket of feed. I then stood on the pallet with the bucket while he raised it up high enough for me to scoop the feed into the the feeder. Don’t worry. We didn’t do a full ton. Just a large trashcanful of feed. I was a good 20-25 feed in the air scooping feed into this tank. It’s a good thing I’m not scared of heights!

I also had to kill my first chicken today. Every now and then we find a sick or injured chicken that needs to be put out of its misery. As Steve was moving the layer house this morning, a chicken got herself stuck under one of the wheels. The layers are normally so good about staying away from the house while it’s moving. In the almost five months I’ve been at the farm, this is the first time we’ve run over a layer. You would think being run over by a tractor would have done her in, but no. Still, it was clear she wasn’t going to make it. The only options were for me to kill her or to leave her there to die either on her own or at the hands (claws? tallons? teeth?) of a hawk or fox. Since we don’t want to attract predators and we didn’t want her to suffer, I had to kill her. It wasn’t fun, but it had to be done and is part of the experience. Still, I think I’ll leave chicken-killing to Steve and Ryan whenever possible.

Tomorrow I head to New York for a long weekend! One of the girls I lived with when I first moved to the city is getting married. I haven’t been back since I moved out five months ago and am really looking forward to it. I’ll go straight to the wedding tomorrow morning and then head over to Brooklyn for the next few days. I don’t want to move back, but there are definitely things that I miss. Mainly the people and the church I attended, Trinity Grace. I’m thrilled that my trip includes a Sunday so I’ll be able to go. The only bummer is that I won’t make it to the Grand Army farmers’ market on Saturday. But Lauren’s wedding will be way more fun than the farmers’ market!

On my list of things to do: Lauren’s wedding (duh!), church & Sunday brunch, a walk in Prospect Park, yogurt from Culture, and as much time with Allyson and Jace as I can manage. He just celebrated his 1st birthday! I’m trying not to think about how big he’ll have grown since I last saw him back in March. Every now and then I think “Ooo! I can go to BareBurger!” which was my favorite restaurant. They specialize in grass-fed burgers and locally-sourced organic produce. You know, all those things I like. Then I remember that I live and work at Wyebrook and can have an amazing grass-fed burger whenever I want one.

Needless to say, I may or may not post anything the next few days.

2 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day

Leave a Reply

