I’m Back!

It felt strange not posting the past few days. I realized I have posted something every day since I moved to the farm almost five months ago. That is a lot of posts! I guess I was entitled to a 2-day break. But now I am back!

I won’t bore you all with all the details of the weekend. After all, this is a blog about farming, not city life. The wedding was beautiful and the weather lovely. I accomplished everything on my NYC to-do list and then some. I ate way too many donuts and didn’t get nearly enough sleep, but it was all worth it. I even found the Fishs Eddy Brooklyn mug I’d been hunting for for months! On top of all that, my car didn’t get towed. This was a legitimate concern given my track record. All-in-all, a very successful weekend.

There were a few comical moments. I drove straight to the wedding on Saturday morning and parked my car at a garage not too far from the reception. When I returned to get it, the guy who drove it out stopped and did a double take.

Guy: “This is your car?”
Me: “Um, yes…”
Him: “Really? You?” ”
Me: “Yes…”
Him: “You can drive manual??”
Me: (sigh) “Yes.”

It was very reminiscent of the “You? A farmer?” conversation I had with the gentleman at my parents’ church a few months ago. I don’t understand why people find my life so bewildering! I mean, I guess I kind of do. But still.

Farming has definitely had an impact on how I think. There is a restaurant in Park Slope called Brooklyn Flipsters. I used to walk past it all the time on my way to and from Camille’s apartment. I never ate there because BareBurger was closer and, in my estimation, infinitely better. The only thought I ever gave them was in regard to their conventionally-raise beef and industrial produce. (BareBurger uses grass-fed beef and all-organic produce and diary.) Yes, it was pretty elitist of me, but if you take all that out of consideration, it’s still hard to compete with BareBurger on taste. They win every time.

Anyway, I walked past Brooklyn Flipsters today and the cow statue that stands in front of the restaurant caught my eye. I’d seen it before of course, but had never paid it any notice. Until today.

Cow-1Notice anything unusual about this cow? No? Well, let me tell you. It is a Holstein. Holsteins, like Jerseys, are typically dairy cows. It is also a female. You can’t see it well in the picture, but she has a sizable udder. Most of your beef cattle are going to be Angus steers which look like this:

Angus (cattle)

Angus (cattle) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just one more reason why BareBurger is better. Although, BareBurger produced this video which also showcases a female Holstein so I guess that’s one strike against them. Those silly city slickers.

3 thoughts on “I’m Back!

  1. So glad you had fun! Remember when we ate BareBurger after getting back from Iceland after the Hurricane…YUM! (bareburger… not the hurricane…)

Leave a Reply

