Cold-Brewed Coffee

You can tell a lot about a person by how they take their coffee. Black. Cream & sugar. Soy latte. Espresso. Iced. Decaf. Instant. And, of course, the “I prefer tea” types.

The Multiple Personalities of Coffee

Typically I prefer black coffee which apparently means I am an old school purist with a tendency towards moodiness and dismissive-ness. This is frighteningly accurate.

In the summer however I prefer sweet, creamy iced coffee. I blame this weakness on Laura. Back in middle school she introduced me to Cappuccino Coolers. We would go to the shore every summer and drink them all day long. These days I shudder when I think what is in them!

There are lots of ways to make iced coffee. You can pour hot coffee over ice, but this dilutes it too much for my tastes. You can pour espresso over ice which is better, but only works if you have an espresso maker (which I don’t). You can brew a pot of hot coffee and chill it in the fridge. Or you can make cold brewed coffee which is the method I prefer.

Cold-brewed coffee takes some advanced planning as it takes 12-24 hours to brew. It is well worth the wait. Cold-brewed coffee is less bitter and acidic than hot-brewed coffee so it has a smoother taste which I like because it means I don’t need as much sweetener to achieve my ideal iced coffee flavor.

Here’s what you do. Start with a ratio of 1 part coffee grounds to 3 parts water. Put it in a jar or pitcher, cover it, and let it sit for 12-24 hours at room temperature. The longer it sits the stronger it gets. When it is done “brewing” strain out the grounds. The liquid is your coffee concentrate. It will be strong like espresso so I typically dilute mine. I normally mix equal parts of concentrate, water and milk to get it to a strength I like. The concentrate keeps nicely in the fridge for a week or two.

If you are in the area and looking for a good locally-roasted coffee, I’m a big fan of Rival Bros. and Pike Creek Coffee. Try Whistle & Cuss (Rival Bros.) or Organic Mexican Chiapas (Pike Creek).

Also, Annie made some coffee ice cream today using Whistle & Cuss. Oh. My. Goodness. That stuff is dangerous. I think I know what I’ll be making for garden night next week…but I must remember to get decaf coffee!

9 thoughts on “Cold-Brewed Coffee

  1. I see black coffee drinkers are also patient, efficient, and like to keep things simple. 😉

    I’ve never even heard of cold-brewing, will have to try it. My morning fix is coffee, chocolate, and milk over ice. I add hot coffee to chocolate, chill, then mix with milk and ice. In the afternoon it’s chai tea with milk.

    • I just poured another coffee and realized I use 3 parts mocha to one part milk. It started out the other way around. Funny how that happens…

    • I don’t know that “patient” is ever a word that has been used to describe me! Though I do like to keep things simple.

      Your morning coffee fix sounds delicious! Do you use chocolate syrup or do you melt a piece of chocolate bar in it?

Leave a Reply

