Slowing down. Sort of.

As much as I hate to admit it, fall is coming. The days are getting shorter, the mornings cooler and the grass is growing more slowly.

Had you asked me back in April or May, I would have told you that I wasn’t looking forward to summer. Long days outside in the heat and humidity just didn’t excite me. I also knew that summer would be our busy season and I worried I wouldn’t be able to keep up! Now that summer is drawing to a close, I am wishing it could last just a little bit longer.

This is unusual for me. Most years I can’t wait for summer to end. Fall has always been my favorite season. I love crunchy leaves and bulky sweaters and pumpkin pie. I am still looking forward to all those things, just not quite yet.

Today was a slow day. The first truly slow day we’ve had in months. We caught chickens and fed the animals and then Ryan and Steve set off for a day of mowing and weed whacking. There wasn’t much for me to do so I ran errands with Lauren. Every Thursday she runs all over Chester County picking up produce and other items for the market and café. Ryan didn’t need me so I tagged along with her. Visiting Doe Run was definitely the highlight.

Doe Run is a dairy farm that isn’t too far from Wyebrook. It is gorgeous! Matt, one of the cheese makers, was kind enough to show us around since it was my first time there. Cheese is, and always has been, my favorite food so it was very cool to see a real dairy operation. They restored the old barn into a very modern milk parlor. In the basement are temperature-controlled “caves” where the cheese is aged. They were very open about showing us around and clearly proud of what they do.  And their cheese is truly fantastic!

When we got back to the farm I packed up the eggs and made peach cobbler for everyone with local peaches, of course. It was delicious! One of my favorite summer desserts. I’d made some for garden night at Jim’s request and figured there wouldn’t be much left over for the guys here. So I went ahead and made more! You can never have too much peach cobbler, right?

Then I bagged chicken parts and fed animals and that was it! Like I said, a very slow day. Tomorrow we will be back to our normal pace. Two of the three cow groups have major moves tomorrow so we’ll be setting up and tearing down fences pretty much all day. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that all goes smoothly and no calves end up down in the creek!

2 thoughts on “Slowing down. Sort of.

  1. I would like fall so much more if it wasn’t followed by winter.
    Doe Run. What a pretty name.
    Warm peach cobbler with vanilla ice cream… talk about comfort food! The aroma alone must have been heavenly.

    • As pretty as the name is, it doesn’t do the farm justice. It is gorgeous! No picture could do it justice.

      And, yes, the aroma was wonderful. The kitchen smelled so good. Even Dean thought it smelled great (and he doesn’t like peach cobbler).

Leave a Reply

