A Tight Squeeze

It was so good to be back at the farmers’ market today! I knew I had missed it, but didn’t realize how much until I got there. Everyone is so nice and they all love us (I mean, we have bacon…). Several of our regulars asked where I’d been and it was nice to know I’d been missed, too.We had a good day. The weather was perfect and we had a steady stream of customers, a good mix of regulars and new comers. We sold all of our eggs, most of our chicken and sausage, and a fair number of steaks. Not too shabby.

The farm was packed when we returned! This, of course, is a very good thing. There was just one small problem. Cars were parked on both sides of the lane which is my tour route. I watched a sedan struggle to make the turn and knew I’d never be able to get the wagon through. When a group of six showed up for the 2:00 tour, I explained the situation to them and asked if they’d be OK with an abbreviated tour and they said that would be fine. I told them all about our cows and chickens (which we’d normally pass while driving around the lane) before we took off to see the piglets. It worked out and no cars were side swiped. By 4:00 the lane was clear and I was able to drive my normal route.

As I was finishing up, Ryan came to find me. A calf had gotten lost in the wrong pasture and needed to be reunited with his mama. Ryan chased him around on the 4-wheeler for a bit and was eventually able to lasso him. I worked the gates and prodded the little guy forward as Ryan pulled him along with the lasso. As soon as we got him in the right pasture he made a beeline for his mom and all was well!

Tomorrow is going to be an exciting day! Marisa McClellan of Food in Jars is coming to the farm to do a canning demo. I plan to sit in on it in between tours. Hopefully it will get me in the canning spirit as I have a bushel of tomatoes and a bushel of peaches waiting to be tackled this coming weekend.

On top of that my best friend Laura is coming to visit! This will be her first trip to the farm and I am looking forward to showing her around and introducing her to Bob, Chicken-dog, and Sir Fluffkin. And to Wyebrook’s amazing beef and bacon burger.

Yep, it’s going to be a good day!

Leave a Reply

