Skirt Steak

Today I canned twenty-two quarts of tomato purée. Well, technically twenty. Two went straight in the freezer because I didn’t feel like running another canner load for just two jars. Two didn’t seal so they went in the freezer, too. That’s a lot of tomato purée. Thank goodness for Mabel! She definitely earned her keep today. She is, without a doubt, one of the best investments I’ve made. Her ability to pulverize pretty much anything saved me from having to run all the tomatoes through a food mill to remove the skins and seed.

This week’s steak was a skirt steak. Laura and I made it for lunch yesterday. It is similar to a bavette in that its value is in its flavor, not its tenderness. We cooked it just like I did the bavette, sliced thin and stir-fried with an assortment of veggies.  I didn’t let the pan heat up enough before we started so it stayed on the heat a bit too long, but it was still very good. Skirt steaks also take well to marinating so I think I will try that next time I get one.

Funny story. Last night I was doing my laundry when I heard my mom calling for me from the basement. I went to the stairs to see what she wanted and she told me to go get dad because there was a toad. She paused briefly and in that moment it must have struck her that I am now a farm girl and she changed her request to “You come get it.” Sorry, I’m off duty on Mondays. I went to get dad and he took care of it.

For garden night this week I made bourbon bacon brownies. Here’s hoping they taste as good as they seem like they should. I’ll be upset if I wasted all that wonderful Wyebrook bacon on a mediocre recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

