Farmer’s Road Drive-Thru

Last week Manda (sister), Joel (brother-in-law), and I went to the Farmer’s Road Drive-Thru. It’s a farm-to-table fast food joint in Chadds Ford, PA. I was intrigued by the idea of a fast food operation that focused on locally-sourced ingredients because most farm-to-table places tend towards the upscale end of the dining spectrum. I like the idea of making local, seasonal food more accessible the average restaurant go-er.

Unfortunately, none of us were impressed by Farmer’s Road. The location is good and the atmosphere/decor promising, but the food did not live up to expectations.

It wasn’t that the food was bad. It wasn’t. We all enjoyed what we got – Manda a hot dog, Joel a ham sandwich and I a turkey sandwich – and the prices were very reasonable. But it wasn’t anything special either. My sandwich was a turkey sandwich. One I could have easily thrown together at home. There was nothing about it that stood out and made you say “wow.”

Would I go back? Sure, if I was in the area and it was lunch time and I was hungry. It is certainly a better option than the Chick-fil-a down the road. I’m always saying “vote with your wallet” and I’d rather support Farmer’s Road (which in turn supports local farmers) than a national fast-food chain. But if I’m being totally honest here, I’d much prefer Chick-fil-a. I avoid Chick-fil-a (and all other fast food places) for personal reasons having to do with the conventionally-sourced chicken and the chemicals and preservatives used in their products, but if those weren’t considerations, if my only thought were to taste and satisfaction, I’d chose Chick-fil-a every time.

One thought on “Farmer’s Road Drive-Thru

Leave a Reply

