The Scarecrow

Have you seen the new video from Chipotle?

What do you think of it? I’m not sure where I stand. I’m a fan of anything that makes people stop and think about where their food comes from and how it is produced, but there’s just enough almost-lawyer left in me to balk at overt emotional appeals.

My feelings towards Chipotle are mixed. They are leaps and bounds ahead of other fast food operations in their refusal to buy meat that’s been treated with hormones or antibiotics and I respect their attempts to source their products locally when they can. But they are still a national chain. This article from Eater pretty much sums up my confusion. At the end of the day, which world does Chipotle fit into: small & local or large industrial? Does it have more in common with McDonald’s or the cafe here at Wyebrook? I just don’t know.

That being said, Chipotle is always one of my first choices if I find myself on the road and hungry. (Elevation Burger is another.)

I experienced the same mixed emotions when they debuted their “The Farmer” video in 2011.

As far as marketing schemes go, it clearly works which is impressive given that the chain isn’t mentioned or advertised until the very end of the video. I don’t know about you, but I’m craving a burrito. And they do pick awesome songs. I’ll give them that. I think I’ll go watch Willy Wonka while I eat that burrito.

One thought on “The Scarecrow

  1. Pingback: Slactivism | Girl Gone Farming

Leave a Reply

