Pork Chops

I am still fighting writer’s block. It’s rather annoying. I spend a lot of time staring at my computer screen. Any ideas or suggestions?

I went with pork instead of steak for tonight’s dinner. I love pork. I like it more than steak. Pigs are better than cows so it only makes sense that their meat would be superior, right? Clearly.

My sister just got the Beyond Bacon cookbook and it has a recipe for what it claims are the “Perfect Pork Chops.” I figured I’d go ahead and try it. It was incredibly easy. You season the chop with salt, pepper and paprika, sear it for 3-4 minutes per side, and finish it in the oven for 10-ish minutes. I must say, it was the best pork chop I’ve ever eaten. I’m sure I’ll be making another one soon.

20130917_0005

 

Also, my new cookbook arrived. Lard: The Lost Art of Cooking with Your Grandmother’s Secret Ingredient. I plan to cook my way through the book and try every single recipe. I’ve already made two batches of freezer biscuits. The first batch I rolled too thin so they cooked up more like very soft cookies than biscuits. The 2nd batch is for breakfast on Saturday so I’ll let you know how they turn out. I would have tried others, but I ran out of lard.  I’ll be stocking up next time I head home!

One thought on “Pork Chops

  1. Sorry, I have no suggestions for writer’s block. I’m amazed at how you come up with as much as you do, talking about ordinary events in interesting ways. Hmmm… but if you really can’t think of anything, maybe you could just post pics and captions sometimes. I never tire of seeing the animals and scenery.

Leave a Reply

