We Survived

Well, I was going to tell you all about last night’s delicious dinner, but I uploaded all of my photos to my laptop and it stayed at the farm while I came back to my parents’ for a much-needed break. Oops! I guess you’ll just have to wait until Wednesday for all the details.

Today was blessedly uneventful. I was in charge of the farm for the day. Steve and I agreed that he would take Saturday so I could go to the farmers’ market and I would take Sunday so he could go to church. He had offered to work the whole weekend, but that just seemed silly since I am around on Sundays anyways. He did come in to help me move the broiler houses, but I handled everything else. All the animals were obliging and cooperative. Also, today was our last day without Ryan. He will be back at the helm tomorrow! I can’t say it was easy or very efficient, but Steve and I survived. As did all the animals! The Polaris was our only casualty. I think it was a good lesson for everyone. Ryan now knows he can leave and the world won’t end and Steve and I know we can handle things without running to Ryan at every bump. Still, I am glad he is back.

Lauren, Jon and David came down for the afternoon! It was an impromptu trip. (Lauren is my old NYC roommate. Jon is her husband. Their wedding was the one I went to back in July. David is Lauren’s brother.) David found himself stuck in NYC waiting for a visa for a business trip so he convinced Lauren and Jon that a road trip to the farm would be a fun way to spend the afternoon. That’s right. David came to visit all the way from Florida. Those of you in the area who haven’t made it up to the farm yet, he is putting you to shame.

In all seriousness, if you are in the area and want to come visit, you’ll want to do so sooner rather than later. It’s hard to believe the cafe is only open for another month. The last weekend in October is the end of the season. I won’t be around October 19-20. That’s the weekend of the half marathon I haven’t been training for. At least I get to go hang out in Hershey with my best friend. Then we are done. The market will still be open and the Friday night dinners will continue, but the music and tours and burgers will all come to an end.

One thought on “We Survived

  1. Pingback: WE SURVIVED | Wyebrook FarmWyebrook Farm

Leave a Reply

