The Farm and Fisherman

Lately I’ve been going through some Sherlock withdrawal. The new season doesn’t air until January and I’ve half driven myself crazy watching and re-watching “The Fall of the Reichenbach.” If you don’t know what I’m talking about, you can read up on it here or watch the first two seasons on Amazon. And, really, you should watch them. You don’t know what you’re missing.

Anyway, to fill the void I started watching Doctor Who. Big mistake. Several friends have been trying to get me to watch it for ages and I’d successfully resisted. Now I’m hooked and would much rather be watching David Tennant fight aliens than blogging. Or going to garden night. Or cooking. Or showering. This is a problem.

That little tangent has nothing to do with farming. I just wanted share what a sacrifice it is for me to be blogging right now instead of watching Doctor Who. Now on to more interesting topics.

On Tuesday Lauren and I went to The Farm and Fisherman for dinner. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again and again until someone makes it happen: we need a TV show. The plan was to take the train from Malvern.  Well, rte. 30 is under a lot of construction and Lauren missed the exit. The new plan was for me to get on in Malvern and her to join me at Paoli, the next stop on the line. Only there was no parking. So I took the train from Malvern to Paoli and then we drove into the city from there.

Once we were in the city, we realized we needed gas. Badly. We did what any reasonable person would do: we Googled it. This is not always the best plan as Google Maps does not distinguish between safe areas and the ghetto. Guess where we ended up? Thankfully it was still daytime and there were plenty of people so we just got ourselves turned around and headed for a new gas station. We made it to the restaurant right on time and fate cut us a break in the form of free street parking right across the street. Unlike me, Lauren can actually parallel park.

The Farm and Fisherman is a 30-person BYOB farm-to-table restaurant located in the Washington Square neighborhood of Philly. The owner and chef is Josh Lawler. Josh works with the café here at the farm and The Farm and Fisherman sources a lot of their meat and eggs from us.

Dinner was delicious, though we ate far too much. The fun part of going to a restaurant where you know the chef is that you inevitably get a dish or two “compliments of the chef.” The problem is that you wind up with too much! That was our problem. We had no room for dessert! Which wasn’t necessarily a bad thing…

Speaking of food and dessert, on Saturday Rob gave me a bunch of carrots that he had left at the end of the farmers market. I knew I wouldn’t be able to eat them all so I made carrot cake cupcakes for garden night! They were very tasty. And they have carrots in them which practically makes them a health food, right?

20131002_0013And now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to watch more Doctor Who.

 

5 thoughts on “The Farm and Fisherman

  1. That squash salad was a work of art! Gorgeous! The cupcakes are pretty too – you must have one of those fancy piping bags. 🙂
    A Scandal in Belgravia was the last Sherlock I’ve seen and so far, it’s my favorite. I replayed the scene where he solved it I don’t know how many times. Between the cleverness of the dialogue and the way it was acted out… and the end! The end where he says those two words two different ways, conveying so much with so little. And can I say, I love it that he’s nerdy, but able to fight? (Making myself stop now. 🙂

    • Actually, I just used a ziplock bag to pipe the icing. I cut one of the corners off and just worked with that. I don’t make cake frequently enough to justify all that fanciness.
      Yes, Sherlock. Love! Just wait until you get to the Fall of the Reichenbach. So good. Do you watch Doctor Who? If you like Sherlock, I’m sure you’d like that as well!

      • Dr. Who… Like you, I’d heard good things about it, so I watched one episode (the pilot?) where mannequins/a mannequin arm came alive. I liked it, but wasn’t ‘hooked’. What makes it a must-see for you?

      • I like that it makes me think. I can’t stand the mindless humor that is most TV shows these days. And I think the Doctor is adorable.

  2. Pingback: THE FARM AND FISHERMAN | Wyebrook FarmWyebrook Farm

Leave a Reply

