Distracted

In case you were wondering, my finger is feeling much better, thanks. And my parents’ house is still standing. Some days that’s all you can ask for, right?

Did anyone get a chance to watch the Wendell Berry interview? I wish I could embed it so you could watch it right here, but for some reason it isn’t working. I hope I’m just like him when I am 80.

I guess I should share all of my cooking adventures (a.k.a. failures). Over the course of the past 48 hours I made pâté, mayo, London broil, sweet potato chips, hollandaise sauce, and pumpkin swirl brownies.

The pâté was a success in the sense that it turned out how it was supposed to turn out. It looks and tastes like pâté. But I don’t really like pâté. I made it because of my ongoing efforts to eat more unusual parts (I used chicken livers as my base), but I just couldn’t stomach it. The taste is good. It paired very nicely with my dad’s fig jam. It’s just a texture thing. I didn’t throw it out or anything and plan to force myself to eat it because it is good for me and I hope it becomes one of those acquired tastes that I learn to love. We shall see.

The mayo was my one true success. I love making mayo. I make a batch almost every week. It is one of my favorite foods. Yes, foods. Not condiments. I could easily eat it with a spoon. And have. If you’ve never had homemade mayo, don’t judge me. Store-bought stuff just can’t compare. Mayo was the thing I missed most when I started cutting out processed foods. Greek yogurt and avocado just didn’t cut it as substitutes. So one day I took the plunge and decided to start making my own. The few people who’ve had the privilege of trying my mayo all agree that it is wonderful.

If you read yesterday’s post, you know how the sweet potato chips and London broil turned out. Actually, the London broil was good. I just seared it in a cast iron skillet for about 4 minutes per side. It probably would’ve been OK at 3 minutes. I topped it with some crumbled bacon from 1732 Meats, caramelized burnt onions and mushrooms sauteed in the bacon fat, and bleu cheese.

image_3

The hollandaise sauce was actually a success, too. I had an artichoke I needed to eat so I made some hollandaise for dipping. I followed the recipe in The Art of French Cooking and it turned out perfectly. As far as artichokes go, I think I prefer mayo as a dipping sauce, but the hollandaise was definitely delicious. Mayo is also easier to make.

20131008_0006

The pumpkin swirl brownies look and smell good. They are for garden night tomorrow so we’ll see how they are received.

20131008_0001

Sorry these posts have been so scattered lately. I blame Doctor Who. The Doctor and Martha are currently trapped at the end of the universe as an evil Time Lord (who shouldn’t exist) stole the TARDIS and left them stranded. I have a problem, I know. The good news is I’ll eventually finish the series and then will be back to myself. It also means I’ve gotten lots of embroidery done since I can’t just sit and watch TV. I have too much nervous energy and need something to occupy my hands. Actually I should probably go watch an episode right now.

One thought on “Distracted

  1. Pingback: DISTRACTED | Wyebrook FarmWyebrook Farm

Leave a Reply

