The Best Friends

I have the best friends in the whole world. Seriously, I do. One of my wonderful Brooklyn friends surprised me today at the farm. I was corralling people onto the wagon for the two o’clock tour and there she was! I had no idea she was coming. It was so great to see her and to catch up for a bit.

My parents also brought up a dear family friend who has been a loyal blog reader from day one. I was so glad she came and now will have a better idea what I’m talking about when she reads all of my crazy stories. (Mrs. Northwood, I am sorry to report that everything went smoothly moving the cows. No “fun” stories today! But I’m sure I’ll have one for you soon.)

We also have the best customers. Lauren and I were freezing at the market this morning. I am an expert layer-er and had on plenty, but it was still cold. It doesn’t help that all of the meat has to be kept buried in ice. People would come by to see what we were selling and would pull everything out of the ice. Then they’d leave and we had to stuff it all back. Our fingers ceased functioning after a bit. Will came to our rescue! He is one of our favorite customers and conveniently lives just a few blocks away from the market. We had some apple cider from Frecon Farms which he took back to his house to heat up for us. How awesome is that?

Anyways, I just wanted to let you all know that you are loved and appreciated. Friends have traveled far and wide to visit me this summer (David wins the award for traveling farthest with Kristen as a close second) and it hasn’t gone unnoticed. Your support throughout this adventure means the world to me and I certainly wouldn’t have made it this far without you. So thanks!

5 thoughts on “The Best Friends

  1. It was so good to see you and the places and animals you write about. You work in a beautiful setting with great people and interesting animals, learning something new every day, it seems. And your “commute” can’t be beat! But you gave up a year of NYC income to do it. Some people go back to school and accumulate years of debt, so maybe it’s the same thing,… except they can usually expect to make more money after graduation (not all, but many). A compelling and rare aspect of your story is that you took this leap without that expectation – though it’s possible, especially if you write or speak. I admire and am inspired by that. Will I follow your example if my calling is revealed? I don’t know, but I hope so! Until then, I’ll keep enjoying your adventure. 😀

    • I gave up a year of NYC income…but also a year of NYC rent! So I guess it all balances out? At the end of the day I’d rather be doing something meaningful and fulfilling than working for a paycheck. Even when I was little, money was never a good enough motivator for me. I’d probably be good in government because I wouldn’t cave to bribes!

Leave a Reply

