Crock Pot Roast

Crock pots are one of the greatest inventions, bar none. You put a bunch of raw ingredients in and walk away. Hours later you return and dinner is magically ready. And there’s only one dish to wash! It doesn’t get any easier than that.

Tonight’s dinner was a pot roast which is the perfect crock pot meal. I filled up the pot with sweet potatoes, onions, carrots, celery, beets, leeks, some stock, and an almost five pound chuck roast. Everything was local which made me immensely happy! I turned the crock pot on and headed out to run errands and see a movie. When I came home hours later everything was perfectly cooked. All I had to do was simmer some of the stock into gravy and dinner was served. The beef fell apart so knives weren’t necessary. The potatoes were a little mushy for my tastes, but that’s how it goes with a crock pot. The only thing missing was a loaf of crusty bread. I’ll remember that for next time.

The chuck roast comes from the shoulder of the steer. It is also called a 7-bone roast because the shoulder blade resembles a 7. It can be a tougher cut of meat which makes it ideal for braising (in the crock pot!). It is also used for ground beef because it has good flavor and a good meat-to-fat ratio.

With winter on its way, I’ll be making a lot of meals in the crock pot. It’s perfect for roasts and stews which are the perfect winter meals. If anyone has any good soup or stew recipes, send them my way! I am looking for some good ones to try. Preferably beef or pork (or vegetarian) based.

3 thoughts on “Crock Pot Roast

  1. I never knew why the 7 bone roast was called a 7 bone. I always figured it HAD seven bones… lol! (It’s obvious that I’ve never cooked one.)
    I’m with you, the crock pot is an indispensable kitchen tool in my kitchen too. Yesterday was bean with bacon soup in mine, but your roast is giving me ideas for later this week!

Leave a Reply

