Steak & Potatoes

Now that the café is closed for the season, I am working Tuesday through Saturday instead of Wednesday through Sunday. No one really wants to ride around on a hay wagon in the blistering cold looking at empty pastures, right? Without tours it really didn’t make sense for me to work Sundays. I still do the market on Saturdays and then head home for my adjusted weekend. I’m actually very pleased with this new schedule because it means I can go to church regularly and I can visit NYC more frequently.

Of course I could have gone up to the city on Mondays and Tuesdays, but with all my friends working, it wouldn’t have made for a fun trip. Now I’ll be able to go up Saturday afternoon and actually be able to spend time with people. City friends – get your couches ready!

All that to say that this week’s family dinner happened on Sunday instead of Monday.

I wasn’t feeling very inspired this week. My thoughts have mostly been occupied with my upcoming trip. So when my sister asked if I’d make baked potatoes, I gladly obliged and built a meal around that. I did a simple London broil on the grill to accompany my baked potato smorgasboard. For toppings we had two kinds of cheese (bleu and cheddar), sour cream, butter, and I sautéed spinach and mushrooms, and caramelized onions. The steak was on the grill for 5 minutes per side and was cooked to perfection.

image_6

We finished the meal with my grandmother’s coconut pie. Also Manda’s request. I told her I wanted to perfect the art of pie making and she suggested I start there. To be honest, it isn’t a real pie in my mind because it doesn’t have a crust. Well, it sort of does. It’s kind of a magical pie. You just mix everything together – eggs, flour, sugar, milk, butter, coconut – pour it into your pans and bake it. The crust somehow forms as it cooks. The recipe makes 2 pies. They say baking is a science, but they lie. One of the pies cooked perfectly and the other was a gooey mess. Same batch of batter, same oven, same amount of time. What’s up with that? Apparently my mother’s oven is warmer on one side than it is on the other.

image

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

One thought on “Steak & Potatoes

Leave a Reply

