Patience is a Virtue

I’m working on some updates for the blog so bear with me as things change back and forth. I’m not the most tech savvy person in the world and generally figure things out by trial and error.

People often wonder why I bother canning and preserving produce during the summer. After all, there isn’t much more miserable than standing over a boiling stock pot in the dead heat of August, even if you do have air conditioning. It’s a lot of work, with little immediate reward (except the sound of the jar lids sealing). Making people understand the value of putting up peaches is challenging, especially when peaches are abundant and cheap.

Then winter rolls around. Months and months of nothing but apples, apples and more apples. They get old quickly. Sure, you can find tomatoes and berries, but they’ve journeyed halfway around the world to make it to your supermarket. That means they were harvested well before they were actually ripe and their taste reflects it. Who’s honestly had a winter tomato that could give a fresh, locally-grown summer tomato real competition? No one.

Today I made a rhubarb pie. Rhubarb is the first fruit of the season in this region, but January is still much to early for it. I’m not even sure you could find rhubarb in the store this time of year. A friend in Norther Ireland said it’s currently selling at her grocery store for £5 ($8.25) per 2 stalks. What on earth could you do with just 2 stalks of rhubarb? If you could find fresh rhubarb right now, and that’s a big if, it would make the most expensive pie you’d ever eaten and it probably wouldn’t even be that great.

Over the summer when I was swimming in rhubarb I sliced and froze loads of it. Bags upon bags of the stuff went into the freezer. This miserable cold stretch (which finally broke today!) made me crave springtime so I thawed out a bag of rhubarb and made a pie! It’s in the oven right now.

This is my 4th pie since Christmas and I must say, I’m getting pretty good at this.

2 thoughts on “Patience is a Virtue

  1. I can just imagine the aroma. Sigh. My mom used to make rhubarb cake with brown sugar. Pie or cake, I’d take either one right now! Did you eat it with ice cream?

    • We ended up putting it in the freezer for my aunt’s birthday party in a few weeks. I made a lemon pie for the party, but my mom decided she wanted to try that one so the rhubarb will have to wait!

Leave a Reply

