My 3rd Greatest Fear

I’ve had a few persistent fears since starting at Wyebrook. First is getting kicked in the back or head by a steer and suffering serious and/or permanent injury, physical or mental. This is extreme and avoidable, but not unrealistic. Second is forgetting to close a gate and being responsible for the herd running amok on Creek Road. Also possible. Third is falling in a pile of manure.

That happened today. It wasn’t even a pile. It was a pool of mud and manure. The winter lot where the calves are is a complete mess. Water drains and pools there and the calves walk around, tearing everything up so there is no where we can walk where we aren’t ankle deep in brown murk.

Steve and I were feeding the calves this morning. Steve was driving the skid steer and I was following along to open gates and cut the baler’s twine that holds the bales together. After cutting the bale I headed back to open the gate for him. Ryan called and as I struggled to get my phone out of my pocket my boot sunk into an unusually deep pool and got stuck. I lost my balance and down I went. My very faded blue jeans were completely brown.

Not only were Ryan and Steve witness to this spectacle, Paul – one of the guys from garden night – pulled in to pick up some of our used pallets right as I went down. It was spectacular. Living here made things easy. I ran inside to change and the day went on as planned.

The only other time I’ve appreciated a shower that much was upon returning to Cusco after hiking the Inca Trail.

I’m sorry I don’t have a picture. I should have gotten Ryan to take one. All I could think of was getting out of those jeans and fast! Hopefully there won’t be a next time, but if there is I’ll be sure to document it.

My afternoon task was to take mineral to all the different cattle groups. The steers were far more interested in the 4-wheeler than in the mineral.

7 thoughts on “My 3rd Greatest Fear

  1. So what was worse, the manure and mud, or the three people witnessing it? I used to be scared of being kicked by a horse. What actually happened was having my foot stepped on by a horse, putting its full (up to 1200 pounds) weight on it. At least three different times. It really hurt. But no one ever saw it.

  2. I’m sorry you fell, but it IS a good story. šŸ™‚
    I wonder what the cows found so interesting – and tasty – about that vehicle. I’d have thought they’d scatter away from it! Maybe they’re like toddlers, who need to put everything in their mouths? Whatever the reason, thanks for posting the video. It’s funny… and strangely fascinating.

Leave a Reply

