Monsanto on the Defensive

I meant to post this last night, but didn’t. I watched Captain Philips instead. Sorry about that.

Did everyone watch the Super Bowl? I didn’t. That makes me pretty un-American I guess. I was up in Brooklyn for the weekend and decided to drive home during the game to beat the snow and the hung over masses. It was a good decision.

For those of you who did watch, did you see the Monsanto commercial? Their first ever Super Bowl ad. Kind of a big deal, right? Personally, I think it’s a good sign. They seem worried. For years people mostly ignored them, but now people are starting to pay attention to things like GMOs and glyphosate. And they are starting to wonder why they should trust the company who brought us Agent Orange and DDT.

Here’s the commercial. I’ll let you form your own opinion.

Also, Chevy completely redeemed themselves with their Super Bowl ad. Remember their last commercial with the mixed up cattle breeds? Here they show they know how to laugh at themselves:

8 thoughts on “Monsanto on the Defensive

  1. I don’t think it’s a good sign at all. Pure propaganda from a company that wants to own every farm, and farmer, in the world. To me it just shows their incredible arrogance. They’re not worried. How can they be, as they “patent” every growing thing on this planet?

    • I agree it is pure propaganda, but this ad is also a major deviation from their normal PR pattern (which is to fly under the general radar). It seems to me the growing anti-GMO movement has, to some extent, forced them to go on the defensive. People are asking questions and Monsanto is trying to create a distraction to get out of answering them. We just need to keep pressing the right buttons.

  2. oh! thats so interesting to me that someone who works on a farm has a perspective on Monsanto….do you have any other posts on your opinions about it?

    • I have a few, but not many. I try to stay out of politics! Down at the bottom of the post are a list of tags, one of which is “Monsanto.” If you click on it it will bring up the rest of my posts concerning them. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

