Broccoli

Snow makes me crave soup. Not just any soup. Broccoli cheddar soup. Growing up this was the only way I liked broccoli. In rich, creamy, cheesey soup. Other kids wanted hot chocolate when they finished playing in the snow. I wanted broccoli soup!

Now is the season for broccoli. Just last night my dad harvested some from his garden and I steamed it for our dinner. Broccoli is one of those foods that has no negatives. It’s low in calories, high in nutrients, and, if cooked right, really delicious. The key is to cook it properly.

English: Broccoli and its cross section isolat...

English: Broccoli and its cross section (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

You can eat broccoli raw, but I personally don’t like it. It’s too chewy and I’m not a fan of the bitter bite it has. My favorite, and the easiest way to prepare it is to lightly steam it for 5 or so minutes. Just long enough to soften it and remove the bitterness, but not long enough for it to get mushy. It also works well roasted or in stir fries.

Recipes:

One thought on “Broccoli

  1. Pingback: BROCCOLI | Wyebrook FarmWyebrook Farm

Leave a comment