Pumpkin

Fall is in full swing and that means it is finally time for all things pumpkin! Pumpkin spice lattes. Pumpkin pie. Pumpkin beer. Pumpkin soup. And pumpkin everything else!

I love pumpkin but I hate cooking it. I admit I am lazy and sometimes cheat by buying the canned stuff. Roasting and pureeing a pumpkin is annoying! Still, it is always better to support your local farmers by purchasing their pumpkins and roasting them yourself.

A shot of a pumpkin, focused on its stem.

A shot of a pumpkin, focused on its stem. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One reason pumpkins are so great is that they are versatile. They can be used in sweet or savory dishes and are equally acceptable at breakfast or dinner. Not to mention they are very good for you. And how many foods are you actually encouraged to play with before you eat it? Go get a pumpkin, carve a scary face in it and then throw it in the oven to roast. Don’t forget to save and roast the seeds!

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada.

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Recipes:

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin

  1. That chai recipe looks interesting and easy (considering it would just mean adding a bit of pumpkin to my pre-made concentrate). 🙂 And I’ll bet my sister’s Jack Russell would LOVE those treats for Christmas. (You’re right – the dog is adorable!)

    • Oh! I could make those treats with my niece Christmas week (always looking for fun things to do together that week) and she can take some to her dad’s extended family when they leave to celebrate with them. How proud will she be to give them something she made? Thanks for the post!

Leave a comment